10th Anniversary Writing Prize

Calling all young writers! Would you like to –
Have your work published?
Win cash prizes?
Be mentored by an amazing writer?

This year Story Factory turns 10! To mark this occasion, we’re running a competition to find the best young writers in diverse communities across Australia. Entry is open to primary and high school students, and anyone who’s ever done a Story Factory workshop.

The top three entries in each category will be published in a special 10th anniversary anthology of the best writing from Story Factory programs over the last decade. Plus the winners in each category receive cash prizes and a chance to be mentored by one of Australia’s most exciting writers.

Entries open 1 April 2022 – Close 31 May 2022

The aim of the competition is to celebrate the voices of amazing young writers in diverse communities in Australia. If you feel you don’t often see yourself or your world reflected in books and the media, this competition is for you!

The theme is ‘voices in the wind.’ You can interpret this however you like. You might include a reference to voices that go unheard; or supernatural voices; or a little voice inside a character’s head. Maybe one of your characters overhears something in the playground. Maybe someone says something at the beach that is lost in the wind. It’s totally up to you. It can be a big part of your piece of writing, or just a brief mention.

You can also decide what you write: a story, poem, script or non-fiction piece. We’re looking for pieces that are original, engrossing and have something to say. Just make sure it’s all your own work.

Also note that the winning entries will be published in anthologies for primary and high school students, so should be appropriate for one or both groups.

The prize will be judged by an expert panel. Radhiah Chowdhury is an author, audio producer and editor living on unceded Bidjigal Land in Sydney’s south-west. She is one of the founders and moderators of the Australian First Nations and People of Colour in Publishing Network, and was the 2019-2020 Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellow. Eileen Chong is a poet who has been shortlisted for multiple awards, including the NSW Premier’s Literary Award, the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award, and twice for the Prime Minister’s Literary Award. Isaiah T Soares is a young writer from Western Sydney who published two novellas as part of Story Factory’s Year of the Novella program in 2020 and 2021.

Entry criteria and prizes

Primary school students

  • Years 3-6
  • The piece needs to be shorter than 1,000 words, or 40 lines for a poem. 
  • Prize of $200

Junior high school students

  • Years 7-10 
  • The piece needs to be shorter than 2,000 words, or 40 lines for a poem. 
  • Prize of $300

Senior high school students

  • Years 11-12
  • The piece needs to be shorter than 2,000 words, or 40 lines for a poem.
  • Prize of $400

Alumni of Story Factory programs

  • Anyone who previously participated in a Story Factory program but has now left school.
  • The piece needs to be shorter than 2,000 words, or 40 lines for a poem.
  • Prize of $500


The top three pieces in each category will be professionally published in Story Factory’s 10th Anniversary anthology.


Plus the overall winner gets a mentorship opportunity with one of three writers: Eileen Chong (poet), Benjamin Law (non-fiction and script-writer) or Will Kostakis (fiction writer).


Enter Now

Any questions? Please contact us on info@storyfactory.org.au


Story Factory 10th Anniversary Writing Prize is generously supported by UBS

@SydneyStoryFactory on Instagram

Story Factory acknowledges the oldest living culture in the world.  We also extend our respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and acknowledge their ongoing connection to land, sea and community.  Always was and always will be.  Artwork by Danielle Mate.
This week Story Factory Executive Director Cath Keenan is down in Canberra to celebrate 20 years of the Australian of the Year Local Hero Award. The Local Hero award celebrates people who lead by example and encourage others to be active in their own communities and become agents of positive change for a more diverse and inclusive Australia. You can read more about the awards and some of the other amazing previous receipts here: https://www.australianoftheyear.org.au/20-years-local-hero
Become a part of our vibrant volunteer community in 2023!  We are on the lookout for creative writing tutors both online and in-person to help nurture and amplify the voices of young people across NSW.  If you are interested in getting involved, the first step is to join us for an information session where we’ll provide more details about the volunteer role and what’s involved.  The next information sessions are on:  Thursday 19th January 3.30pm – 4.30pm via zoom.
Friday 20th January 12.00pm – 1.00pm at the Story Factory Redfern Centre.
Tuesday 24th January 12.00pm – 1.00pm via zoom.  Find out more and book in via the link in our bio.  📷 Jim A. Barker
Story Factory will be closed from Wednesday 21 December until Monday 16th January. We will respond to all enquiries, and mail all book orders, on our return in the new year.  Massive thanks to everyone for your continued support. We wish you  a very safe and happy holiday!
Recently we have been running a very special multilingual writing project called In a Flash, inviting people of all ages to send us a very short story or poem in English, Mandarin, Arabic or Vietnamese. 
We’ve been getting such wonderful responses that we’ve decided to extend the deadline to next year to allow more time for people to submit their writing!  Here’s one of the many great submissions we have received:  Stranded upon the shore, battered, beat and sore.
A glimpse of hope starts to rise
River water taking human size  River-person helped the boat
To keep it balanced and to stay afloat
As the boat sailed away into morning light
The river person sunk back into the water that night  Submissions are now open until the 28th February!  Follow the link in our bio to find out more and enter now.  This project has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body.